Award Inspiring

A week or so ago the lovely Kat aka The Couture Academic nominated me for the Very Inspiring Blogger/One Lovely Blog award! I was thrilled!
Inspiration is the raison d’etre of this blog!!

I get so much inspiration from Kat’s bold adventures…from couture dresses to lingerie. She just jumps in and gives it a go! And writes great details about what worked as well as what didn’t, which is just as interesting…if not more so!! Thanks for all the time and thought you put into to documenting your adventures, Kat!

Here are the rules of this lovely award:

1. Thank the person who nominated you
2. Add The One Lovely Blog Award / The Very Inspiring Blogger Award to your post.
3. Share 7 things about yourself.
4. Pass the award on to 10 nominees.
5. Include this set of rules.
6. Inform your nominees by posting a comment on their blogs.

Seven Things About Me: (in no particular order)

Bandwhite.JPGWrapBlouse.JPG

  • I’m a sucker for black and white fabric…I think it looks sharp on just about everyone.
  • I adore ‘Bonnet’ movies/series…Pride and Prejudice, Cranford, Wives and Daughters, The Forsyte Saga (ok, that one’s more of a bustle series). Really looking forward to the release of the movie version of Les Miserables.
  •                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  I am a dyed-in-the-fur cat person. I have two. Chesapeake, my ginger tom is 20 years old! He’s a bit wobbly on his paws but seems to be the happiest he’s ever been. Purrs up a storm and still tells time very well; lets us know precisely when it’s five o’clock…both am and pm! Ms Mittens is the softest calico kitty with a sweet nature to match. She could also be mistaken for a wombat. The vet warned us she would be prone to overconsumption. (Like her cat-mother…)
  • I am a runner…albeit a slow one….have been running for 5+ years but had some time-outs due to wicked bouts of plantar fasciitis and achilles tendonitis. Things improved when I discovered I could run in MBT shoes (ones with the rocker soles). V. disappointed when MBT declared bankruptcy earlier this year. However, just last night I discovered something that might be even better: a new rocker sole running shoe, Hoka One One (pron: Hoe-kah Oh-knee Oh-knee). Hopefully I won’t be crying ”oh knee, oh knee!” after running in them! Stay tuned.

25/1/2013 Update: Sorry to report the Hoka One One shoes didn’t help – they have too much of a heel, which pushes me on to my forefoot…OWWWWWW (bunion)…I eventually just bit the bullet and got used to the more rigid new MBTs (Mahuta) and after a few weeks of feeling like I’d been run over by a bus, my muscles/bones seem to have realised that the cushy ride is no longer available…and they’ve adapted! I’ve also been doing a lot more cross-training (a variety of Jillian Michaels DVDs  – (kickboxing is my current  fave)  – which has helped a lot, I think…

22/7/2013 Another Update: Guess what? Those Hoka One One’s have become my Favourite Running Shoes! No forefoot/bunion pain from them now!? After 6 months of running in the MBT Mahuta’s (which aren’t designed for running), I began to develop major inwards ankle rolling. The base on the Mahuta’s really isn’t wide enough for running…and as I tried to increase distance for the longer runs I have coming up, I just seemed to roll further and further inwards…which resulted in chronic calf/quad/ITB niggles. The good thing about the Mahuta’s was that I was able to get back to running on a ‘harder’ sole….SO…when I recently dug out the Hoka’s, with their much wider base and better ankle roll prevention …and relatively cushy padding…the ankle rolling was much reduced! And [gasp] I put those rock hard fibre glass orthotics into the Hoka’s too (I was really concerned re chronic rolling)….so far, so good!! Yes, I can feel some plantar fascia strain from the orthotics but have since discovered  I can significantly offset this with HEAPS of stretching….Right. Now to get into to some good ( ‘relatively’ pain free 🙂 training runs!

  • My entire career has been in the workers compensation industry; mainly various aspects of work-related injury management and rehabilitation. Wasn’t planned that way…just sort of evolved. It’s been interesting. I’ve worked  in Australia and the USA.
  • I was a ‘North Shore’ Girl (Sydney) until 10 years ago when my dear husband convinced me to move to ‘the other side’ (of the Sydney Harbour Bridge). Now I am an inveterate Inner Westie and can’t remember what I was fussed about! Love the constant creative energy of this area! Also love being able to walk down to the corner cafe for fabulous coffee…and up to King St, Newtown to feast on food on from just about any country you can think of !! The shopping’s pretty eclectic too.
  • I read mainly non-fiction. Particularly like psycho-economic-scientific (?) books like The Tipping Point, Freaknomics and Buy-ology. We’ve instituted a ‘Book Club’ at work where we discuss a chapter from one of these types of books each week…great for getting us to think beyond the day-to-day routine and interesting to learn more about each other.

Inspiration Sources: The following list includes 10 blogs/people that have particularly inspired me re: sewing

  • Sewing Buddies from the ASG Alexandria Achievers – in particular, Sharon from Petite and Sewing, Alison from Sewing with Cats and Maria (aka Velosewer) from How Good Is That?. Thanks for your encouragement, generous teaching and sharing of knowledge, especially re: fit! I never knew I had ‘sticky-outy’ shoulder blades! Thanks Alison 😉 . Thanks also to Renata, who doesn’t have a blog but who gently and persistently encouraged posts with pictures of me wearing my creations, rather than just ‘Dolly’.
  • Goodbye Valentino – I wish Sarah would buy double amounts of the fabrics she chooses and send half to me! I particularly love her black and white creations, here and here.
  • Scruffy Badger Time –  While I love reading about Winnie’s sewing creations, lately I’ve been equally inspired to follow in her (running) foot-steps and get serious about improving my running. Particularly liked her post about being a Running Tourist – made me think about taking time to enjoy the view as well as the run, in my ‘own backyard’ (which is pretty spectacular, as backyards go!) She also never fails to crack me up with her hilarious photoshoots.
  • ArtAttack – Dorcas’ enthusiasm is infectious! We first ‘met’ while rhapsodizing over the joys of a perfect pencil skirt in wonderful bold prints – which she chronicled in her post: Skirt-a-Palooza! She can also wear orange better than anyone I know!
  • BurdaStylers – these people inspire me with their wonderful creations from BurdaStyle magazine, my favourite pattern source: SewingElle from He Cooks, She Sews (I want her wardrobe); Catherine from CatherineDaze (want her wardrobe too, especially the coat she’s making at the moment!) ; Tia Dia from MezzoCouture (want her to help me find and sew the luscious fabrics she works with) and Janene from Ooobop (particularly like Janene’s monthly reviews of BurdaStyle!)

”Thank You” for your inspiring posts/help/laughs!

And “Thank You” to all readers and commenters on my blog – you inspire me to keep sewing better!!

18 comments

  1. Pingback: Happy Belated Birthday Giveaway | MezzoCouture

  2. Anne, you are so adorable! I am honored and excited about my new award! Gosh, I have no acceptance speech prepared but shall write one before passing on the goodness to others. Thank you!
    ~dorcas

    • Thanks Ooobop…it’s interesting what pops into your head when someone says ‘tell me 7 things about yourself”!! Haven’t consciously thought about defining myself for a while…my first thought was ” I am completely consumed with everything sewing related”…but you all knew that!!!

  3. Thank you for the kind words! You’ve certainly fulfilled the raison d’etre of your blog, because you’re a huge inspiration to me! 🙂

  4. A North Shore Gal!!! Well, my teenage years (and I am talking probably long before you were born) were spent on the ‘other side’ of the bridge. Haven’t heard that saying for years. Up in Brisbane now. Just discovered your blog, so off to have a peek around…J

  5. Pingback: Lobbing a Leibster and Other Award Thank-You’s « CherryPix : SewingPix


Your thoughts?

