The Red Arc Skirt

The ‘arc’ pieces of this pattern intrigued me! Something ‘slightly different’ for a pencil skirt!

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2010 #116

I made this as a toile but liked it enough to finish it, complete with lining. I wore it a few times but felt the defining detail, ie the arc lines were too invisible. So, in a bout of insomnia last weekend, I handstitched rows of white running stitches along the lines, to highlight them.

That’s what it needed!

Here’s what it looked liked without stitching:

I like the way the front pieces wrap to the back. The white stitching makes this stand out better.

Construction was pretty straight forward.  As per instructions, I fused Vilene strips along all curved edges to reduce stretching out. Seems to have worked! An invisible zip is tucked neatly into one of the back panel seams.

The fabric, a stiff  red cotton drill from the IKEA remnant table, is probably a bit too stiff. Won’t use it again for clothing, but it’s wearable. The lining is from my Goldhawk Rd (London) ‘stash’, a poly charmeuse. I love lined skirts, particularly with ‘surprises’ like this print.

The skirt is quite ‘pegged’, despite the back vents. It’s not a skirt for power-walking ;-p


26 comments

  1. Amazing!!!!! The handstitching is genius!!! It totally makes it. I will have to try this one- I started to trace a pattern from a burdastyle magazine….. it’s a lot harder than it seems…. so many layers of lines- intersecting. I’ll do it though, it’s another challenge!

  2. Thanks Tracey! I think the trick to tracing BurdaStyle patterns is to get into a very Zen state ;-P. I actually don’t mind it…just make sure you catch every little marking – compare your tracing to the line drawing markings in in the instruction section to make sure you have marked them all…I invariably miss one! I think it’s worth the effort. BurdaStyle styles and fit appeal to me most. Not wild about the instructions (or obscurations as I call them) but their lack of clarity forces me to figure things out for myself…which is a great learning curve! Reviews on PatternReview are a huge help too! Which reminds me…I need to ‘pass it on’ and post a review of this on PR!

  3. I already have fabric for this skirt as part of my Burda Challenge but it will have to wait until September. I absolutely love the hand-worked top-stitching and I’m sure I will be stealing this fabulous design idea.

    I don’t know if Tracey who posted the first comment will see this, but I have put some tips on tracing Burda patterns on my blog.

    • I really liked this pattern..it fit, with any fussing! It seems to be particularly well drafted. All the pieces fit together perfectly. Glad you like the top stitching (I was wondering what to call it, but it is, of course, top stitching!) Look forward to seeing your version in Sept!

  4. I have waited long enough. All your stuff looks so good hanging up. When are you going to strutt the runway like the rest of us, huh???

  5. Pingback: The Red Maple Leaf Top … And One for Renata | CherryPix : SewingPix

  6. The colour, design lines and you hand stitching really make this skirt work. I’ve great with the maple leaf top.

  7. Love the hand-picked stitching on this skirt! And a belated thank you for joining my blog SoundStitches. Happy sewing!

  8. Pingback: Two lovely awards from two lovely ladies… | ooobop!

  9. Pingback: Two lovely awards from two lovely ladies… | ooobop


Your thoughts?